Inspired by Mum

Recently work has been particularly crazy and so my blogging has ground to an inevitable halt; which I haven’t been very pleased about. With everything finally calming down, and sleep deprivation slowly abating, I am back in the driving seat and trying a new direction.

In the past I have tried to be very particular with the content I am writing and getting the tone just right before I put anything online. This is great for maintaining quality but not very helpful in generating content in limited free time. I have come to a realisation that I should not be so anxious about what I am posting and just write from the heart and release it to the world. My inspiration for taking this new route has come from the most unlikely of places; my mum.

To give you some context, my mum is a very analogue creature (in the nicest way) and can just about manage to make a phone call and skype me on the odd occasion; usually preceded by many text message explanations. To help pass the time in her six weeks summer holiday she has started making some pressed flowers and decided to create an online shop on etsy to see if she could make a little bit of extra money. Check out her shop here and blog here. Go on, you know you want to. It will get me all the brownie points…

Since then she has been thrust into the ever growing, and confusing, platform of online shopping and social media. Etsy and facebook were up and running without issue, but when Instagram and WordPress appeared it became slightly more confusing. You don’t realise how strange it all is until you are explaining the concept of a blog and what a “hashtag” is to your mum. But after many late night texts and phone calls she is now trucking along at a tremendous speed; almost posting daily. She just posts whatever she wants, whenever she wants, and you can really see her personality coming through when you read through them. That is what I want for my blog. So from now on I am going to be less precious with my newborn blog, unwrap the cotton wool, and kick it from the nest to pick up some steam.

So among all the other things that she has done for me, of which there are too many to count, this is a little thank you to my dear Mum for reminding me that I just need to get stuck in and just see what happens. What’s the worst that can happen?

One thought on “Inspired by Mum

Leave a Reply

